Current Conditions / Features/Entertainment / Uncategorized

Current Conditions: A musing on emergencies

I hang out at a lot of emergency scenes like fires and car accidents. Not because I want to, but because that’s part of my job as a reporter.

This week, while waiting to hear details about the gas leak at the Hutchinson Clinic, a hypothesis of mine was confirmed.

Emergency scenes attract a very special breed of people.

Most are harmless, perhaps just boisterously curious. But at every emergency scene at least one person unaffiliated to the accident or responders will inevitably be arguing with an officer or fireman, loudly misinforming bystanders/someone on a cell phone or sharing a deeply personal and often times inappropriate story.

Many times you get all three. Bingo!

I am not complaining. It’s actually reassuring. I can’t ridicule anyone for wanting to get closer to the scene, know what’s going on or connect to another human being. Those are the very reasons I became a journalist.

Actually, now that I think about it, I’m the one you’ll find furiously scribbling notes and pacing back and forth on a sidewalk at the scene of emergency.

Oh, no. I just realized I’m the weirdo.

-Kayla Regan, Current Conditions

Check out more of Kayla’s work here.

Leave a Reply

