It's this or anarchy / Uncategorized

It’s this or anarchy: Construction ups and downs

For the past 25 months, one of my tasks has been to pick up a list of building permits from the City of Hutchinson’s Inspection Department each week.

In addition to typing them up for the Sunday paper, I’ve kept track of the number and value of permits issued each week in a spreadsheet. hoping I’d spot some sign of an economic recovery in our community.

But if there are any such signs, they’ve eluded me.  The numbers are up, down, all over the place. But I thought I’d show you these two charts anyway.

One thing I have noticed. Far and away, most of the building permits are for new roofs.

building_pemits

Leave a Reply

