Current Conditions / Features/Entertainment

Current Conditions: News cycle sleeping

I’ve never been a good sleeper. I’ll spare you the details of it, but basically I’ve always been convinced that if something bad is going to happen, it’s going to happen while I’m asleep. This notion doesn’t exactly lull me into a state of relaxation.

Last week was especially bad. Besides having my normal problems, my dreams were violent and terrifying; normally they’re just weird. As I was in bed Thursday night, reading about Kaylie Bailey, Amanda Berry and Jodi Arias, I had to ask myself: Was I doing this to myself?

In a word, yes.

I made a call to Robert Sourk, who specializes in sleep at Hutchinson Regional Medical Center’s pulmonary division. Ingesting information about stressful or life changing events can certainly affect your ability to fall asleep and the dreams you have, he said.
“So, I shouldn’t read the news or watch the news in bed?” I asked.
No, he said. It was a pretty big “duh” moment for me.

Will this confirmation make things better, though ? Probably not. I’m a creature of bad habits. I’ll just hope for a better news cycle this week.

-Kayla Regan, Current Conditions

Leave a Reply

