All that buzz / Features/Entertainment

All That Buzz: Cooler Cooking

Thank goodness for a bit of chillier weather. I can finally turn my stove on.

That is one of the things I miss when the thermometer goes above 90. I like to cook. I like to try new things.But hot weather forces me to keep my stove off. I don’t want to make my air conditioner work on overdrive.

So this weekend when the temperatures stayed in the 80s, I listened to the steady rain outside and got ready to cook.

My mom is an amazing cook. I think my tastes are starting to morph into hers, because one of my new favorite things to cook is something she made at my house a few weeks ago when she was here to visit. If I can, I like to mix it up a bit.

Sweet peppers like these can be found at your local grocery store. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

Sweet peppers like these can be found at your local grocery store. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

One of the cutest foods to get are these little peppers. They are so tiny and adorable. They also add some color to any dish. If it is pleasing to the eye, it has to be pleasing to the palate, right?

The first thing I do is pick out five sweet peppers and slice them. I set the slices in a bowl and move on to a yellow onion. I cut the onion in half and dice it. Try to get small pieces if you can. When you’re done dicing the onion half, add it to the bowl with the pepper.

Saute vegetables in a skillet. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

Saute vegetables in a skillet. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

In a skillet, add some olive oil and turn on the heat – I keep it about medium heat. When the olive oil starts to shimmer (yes, shimmer, not simmer), add your peppers and onions to saute. During the saute part, I usually add some basil to add a little more flavor. Then let the vegetables simmer.

While the vegetables are simmering, slice a chicken breast. I used organic free-range chicken – found at Dillons on 30th. I can’t wait until Dillons Marketplace opens so I can check out its organic section.

Cook chicken until it is no longer pink. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

Cook chicken until it is no longer pink. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

Add olive oil to another skillet. Toss in the chicken and cook until the chicken no longer has any pink. Then add the vegetables.

Put this into anything - a tortilla, etc. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

Put this into anything – a tortilla, etc. (Kristen Roderick/The Hutchinson News)

You can put this mixture in anything – a tortilla, a sandwich or eat it like that. As always, feel free to put more in it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

