Current Conditions / Uncategorized

Current Conditions: The writing on the wall

If you didn’t catch it, I wrote this  story about gang graffiti for The News this week. The idea came from my photographer buddy, Lindsey, who gave me a heads up there was a bunch of gang graffiti on the side of the old Dollar Cents building on Main Street.

Normally, graffiti isn’t something that particularly moves me, but it’s on my way home so I checked it out.  I was surprised at how big it was. Not being a gang member, I had no idea what any of it meant, but I needed to find out. After a few hours of research, I learned this was a serious call out from the Piru gang to the Serenos.

It fascinated me that hundreds were driving past what was essentially a murder threat every day. I wanted to learn more, which is where my story came in.

Below is a list of a few things I learned while researching this story. The information comes from online research, as well as interviews with police.

graffitiNHP – Nationhood Piru. The Piru gang began in California and is included in the Blood sect. The Bloods are part of the People nation.

SUR 13 – Refers to the Sureno gang, which is included in the Crip sect. Thirteen denotes the letter “M,” the 13th letter in the alphabet, to pay homage to the Mexican Mafia. The Crips belong to the Folk nation. The People and Folk nations are rivals.

Pitchfork- Symbol for the Folk Nation. The Bloods invert the pitchfork to show disrespect.

CK- Crip killer

SK- Sureno killer

Crown – The People’s symbol is a five-pointed crown. Bloods also use a five-pointed star or draw the number 5 to pay homage to the People’s nation.

CRAB- Crips are all bloods

Downward arrow – Marks where territory begins

Leave a Reply

